Netflix, Romania, A Clockwork Orange, Guitar Solos, Movies.

This weekend I got Netflix for the XBOX360. Everyone, if you have a 360 and you like movies as much as I do, you have to get this. I can watch any movie I want to in an instant… It’s crazy! Plus, it’s only $8.99 a month, as opposed to about $14.99 for a DVD, which I would have, undoubtedly, purchased. It’s a huge money saving option for me. For those who don’t know, I have somewhere between 300 and 400 DVDs in my collection: some of them still unopened (movie night – my place!) Anyway, since I have discovered the amazingness that is Netflix on the 360, I have watched about 15 movies. But there is one that I want to talk about specifically: “4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days”.

The film is set in Communist Romania in the final years of the Nicolae Ceauşescu era. It tells the story of two students, roommates in the university dormitory, who try to arrange an illegal abortion. It’s weird. Never has a film seemed so real to me. Normally, I am able to disconnect reality and fiction, which is why I don’t find movies like “A Clockwork Orange” unsettling. I can imagine the actors and actresses on the studio set or location acting out things that are, no question, disturbing, but I know that once the director says “Cut!”, they would go back to being their normal selves, and maybe even laughing about what they just acted out, saying something like, “I can’t believe we’re actually acting this out, haha!”. But this movie, I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was truly witnessing what was shown; like I was following these people around in real life. It seemed so real. Maybe it was because they would film long scenes with one camera angle, like a conversation at a dinner table that lasts for about 20 minutes (no camera changes or even movement) in which they are discussing things that are completely irrelevant to the plot other than to have the viewer become more immersed into their world. Long story short, it’s a great film that is somewhat of a head trip (not for the faint of heart). Check it out at an XBOX 360 near you! Haha.

Other than that, we’ve been (of course) recording in the good ol’ Studio 82A, Chula Vista, CA. At this very moment, Greg is recording what is to be the last guitar solos of the album. All that’s left now is me… I have about 7 songs to record vocals for… whoopie dee doo dah! It’s going to be a long day, haha. A new video blog will be making it’s way to you all, shortly… sorry, we’ve been terribly busy… watching movies. 😛

Cheers,
Travis.

Leave a Reply

