Come Join the Reading Express

Needless to say there has been quite a bit of free time over here, some of which I have spent reading. The following is my attempt to review some of the stories that have filled my mind with fantasy and wonder for the past three months. This is sort of a small attempt to start sort of an OnBeingHuman book club thing… It sounds kind of lame, but I love to read… so there.

Edgar Poe
“A Predicament”
“The Devil in the Belfry”
“The Fall of the House of Usher”
“The Man of the Crowd”
“The Oval Portrait”
“The Mask of the Red Death”
“The Black Cat”
“The Cask of Amontillado”
“Hop-Frog: or, the Eight Chained Ourang-Outangs”

His stories live up to their horrifying reputation. His objective, almost casual, look at death and the more morbid sides of human nature, genuinely have the ability to make your skin crawl and raise the back of the hair on your neck. I’d recommend reading during the day or with all the lights on.

C.S. Lewis
The Great Divorce
Now about 1/3 of Mere Christianity

What can I say? I love this man. His logical rebuttals to the oppositional arguments of Christianity are so profoundly simple and complex at the same time. When I’m through reading, my eyes are opened and I’m scratching my head at the same time. He definitely helps my faith through times in my life where I find myself question the foundations of my beliefs. Thank God for Mr. Lewis.

Hemmingway
Old Man and the Sea
The beginning of Across the River and into the Trees

Not my favorite author, but I would say that Old Man and the Sea has made my top ten list of favorite books. It’s a beautiful story of an old man who has given his life to fishing and the love of baseball. It’s a little hard to get through Across the River… But I will. Mark my words, I will!

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

The Little Prince

Possibly the best children’s story ever written. Like “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster, or “Oh, the Places You’ll Go” by Dr. Seuss, Antoine is able to take deep life lessons and make them easy enough to understand for children. (and me!) Following the adventure of the Little Prince from his home planet to earth, learning that “grown ups are very strange” and possibly have a warped opinion on life and the way the world works. He proves that growing old doesn’t mean that we have to grow up.

These next and last ones are all included in a book of short stories by various authors.
“The Signalman” by Charles Dickens
“The Withered Arm” by Thomas Hardy
“An Outpost of Progress” by Joseph Conrad
“At the End of the Passage” by Rudyard Kipling
“The Country of the Blind” by H.G. Wells
“The Force of Circumstance” by W. Sommerset Mougham
“The Dead” by James Joyce

This is what I have been reading. It would be great to hear if any of you have also read these stories and what you think of them. If you haven’t read any of these, then they all come with my full recommendation.

Beau
OBH

Leave a Reply

